Articles by JCS

Book Reviews

 

The Medical War Against Chiropractors

Book Reviews

 

Glen Rasmussen, DC, 6-2-2011

I love your book and am reading it again for the second time.

 

Darren Hancock, DC, 6-15-2011

I just started reading it and can't put it down. Thanks!

 

Dr  John Nobbe, 6-15-2011

I also must say Thanks for all the hard work to compile this book…Very good !!!

 

Brian McAuley, Provost, Life University, July 2, 2011

Dr. J.C. Smith’s book, The Medical War Against Chiropractors, is a compelling account of the actions taken by the leaders of powerful medical institutions to block patient access to chiropractic services. The book is meticulously researched; through his boldly explored and compellingly written recounting of the Wilk antitrust case, the Florida State University rejection of a doctor of chiropractic program, and the medical establishment’s unprofessional and unethical treatment of chiropractic research, Smith writes a fascinating narrative and makes a compelling case that leaders in the medical establishment have damaged millions of people by discouraging them from using chiropractic care.  This book will be of paramount interest to chiropractic and other health care practitioners and students, legislators, and anyone with an interest in the political and economic dynamics of the health care system.

 

Sunny Kierstyn, RN, DC , 7-31-2011

Dr. Smith:
 This weekend was spent reading your book about our chiropractic history.  It was opened Friday evening and I had trouble putting it down until done.  It was GREAT!  Thank you so much!
 The book was a delightful read - the references are wonderful.   I thought I knew at least part of the story....you've made me much more aware of my own profession.   Having that compendium of the positive studies done through the years is so appreciated!  Your bringing together all the facts of chiropractic and your conclusions were a pleasure and a comfort to see in print.
 Thank you again for your work.  It is very impressive, not to mention inspirational.  Your observations and conclusions reflected my own observations and suspicions to such a large degree, it’s possible I may not be crazy after all!   You've added an excellent book to our archives.

 

Frank Zolli, Dean of University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic, June 30, 2011

 

I have been reviewing your book and intend to require it for my History and Philosophy of Chiropractic class in the fall and thereafter. I believe you have provided students a vehicle to understand the adversity over which chiropractic pioneers and activists have had to overcome in order to reach our current status. Most importantly you do it on the basis of fact, not dogmatic emotion and hysteria. Thank you and keep doing what you’re doing, it is more important than you may realize.

 

William Meeker, DC, MPH, President

Palmer College of Chiropractic West Campus

 J.C. Smith has written a fast-paced and jaw-dropping account of the efforts made by the American Medical Association to essentially destroy the chiropractic profession in the middle of the 20th century. Well-organized and very well-referenced, it provides students, doctors and the general public a behind the scenes look at how vicious health care politics can truly be. Dr. Smith’s book is a classic that will be referenced as an important contribution to healthcare history in the United States. Your book is now a recommended book in our Principles and Practice curriculum.”

 

Paul G. Smith, DC, MA, FICC

Your book, "The Medical War Against Chiropractors" is fantastic! I have been involved with chiropractic for over 46 years and have held many positions of leadership in the chiropractic profession and as one who thought I knew all of our history, this well-researched book taught me things I had never known. It is a must read for all chiropractors, chiropractic students and anyone contemplating a career in chiropractic or researching the subject.

Jim, in my opinion, this is your best work yet!

 

Peter Martin, president of Palmer-Florida, 10/7/11

Thank you so very much for sending your recent book, The Medical War Against Chiropractors on to me. I have found your book to be well researched and at the same time to be a reminder of what the profession and its practitioners have endured over the years. As we have progressed as a profession and have gained more recognition and respect we still, to quote Shakespeare, “suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune”.

In reading your book I was reminded that in the late 60’s and early 70’s, telephones would be hung up on me as I would try to refer patients for needed medical care or diagnosis. While that certainly does not happen now, the underlying bigotry does persist. Your book is compelling, it holds interest, but is still a gut-wrenching experience. I congratulate you on your courage and temerity in bringing to the light of day the dark side of the history of discrimination that most of us would like to forget, although to do so would be to our own peril.

 

H. Lubkin, DC, 8-9-2011

            Thank you so much for your excellent book. I started reading it and find it very interesting. Your writing style is captivating.

 

Arlan Fuhr, DC, Activator, 8-14-2011

“The Medical WAR Against Chiropractic” is a must-read for all chiropractors, and also provides good background for students readying to embark on their chiropractic careers. I was especially pleased to learn that chiropractic employment is projected to increase 20 percent between 2008 and 2018, which is encouraging news for those just starting their studies.

This is an exemplary compilation of research and facts that chiropractors should always have at their disposal. Clearly, Dr. Smith invested tremendous time and energy reviewing all the literature and conveniently housing the facts that support the effectiveness of chiropractic in a single publication.

 

Pat Quinn 5-25-2011

 Just completed reading your book and thoroughly enjoyed it.  Your passion for uncovering the truth, and towering literary skills are on par with those of Woodward and Bernstein when they used their combined talents to bring down the Nixon White House.  Fortunately, your side also had its own version of Deep Throat with the nom de plume, Sore Throat, who helped win the Wilk case against the AMA.  With your book, you have managed to put a major chink in the armor of the medical industrial complex.

 All chiropractors in the U.S. (world, for that matter) should read this book.  As a result, they can’t help but feel prouder for their profession and hold their heads high.  A new, accomplished chiropractic warrior has emerged to do battle against “the most terrifying trade association on earth” on their behalf.

 

 David Chapman-Smith, May 27, 2011

Sec-General of the World Federation of Chiropractic

The Medical War Against Chiropractors has the unmistakable mixture of solid research, colorful expression, and bold storytelling that are the hallmarks of JC Smith.

 

J. Michael Flynn, DC, June 6, 2011

President, World Federation of Chiropractic

This book is a relevant and timely compilation of events by political medicine to "contain and eliminate" the chiropractic profession.  It is a look at the courageous struggle of a young profession that had to experience and survive the weight of Goliath. I expect that Dr. J. C. Smith's book will be required reading by the colleges for every student of chiropractic. 

 

James D. Edwards, D.C., F.I.C.C.
Past Chairman, American Chiropractic Association

This book is a must read for every doctor of chiropractic.  More importantly, every chiropractic college president should mandate that this book be a required text for every incoming chiropractic student.


John Scaringe, president of SCUHS, July 25, 2011

The Medical War Against Chiropractors by JC Smith is a candid and intriguing book outlining the challenges and successes of the chiropractic profession. Deeply researched and skillfully constructed, this is a major contribution to chiropractic history. Relevant to chiropractic physicians world-wide, I would highly recommend this book to anyone involved with, or interest in, chiropractic healthcare.

 

Brian McAuley, Provost, Life University, July 2, 2011

Dr. J.C. Smith’s book, The Medical War Against Chiropractors, is a compelling account of the actions taken by the leaders of powerful medical institutions to block patient access to chiropractic services. The book is meticulously researched; through his boldly explored and compellingly written recounting of the Wilk antitrust case, the Florida State University rejection of a doctor of chiropractic program, and the medical establishment’s unprofessional and unethical treatment of chiropractic research, Smith writes a fascinating narrative and makes a compelling case that leaders in the medical establishment have damaged millions of people by discouraging them from using chiropractic care.  This book will be of paramount interest to chiropractic and other health care practitioners and students, legislators, and anyone with an interest in the political and economic dynamics of the health care system.

Sunny Kierstyn, RN, DC , 7-31-2011

Dr. Smith:
 This weekend was spent reading your book about our chiropractic history.  It was opened Friday evening and I had trouble putting it down until done.  It was GREAT!  Thank you so much!
 The book was a delightful read - the references are wonderful.   I thought I knew at least part of the story....you've made me much more aware of my own profession.   Having that compendium of the positive studies done through the years is so appreciated!  Your bringing together all the facts of chiropractic and your conclusions were a pleasure and a comfort to see in print.
 Thank you again for your work.  It is very impressive, not to mention inspirational.  Your observations and conclusions reflected my own observations and suspicions to such a large degree, it’s possible I may not be crazy after all!   You've added an excellent book to our archives.

 

Joseph Brimhall, President, University of Western States, 8-22-2011

I recently finished reading “The Medical War Against Chiropractors”. I commend you on writing a definitive history of the AMA’s long-lasting assault on the chiropractic profession, complete with details and inside information that many of us were not aware of. This book describes and chronicles the dangers created for society when a trade organization places the needs and preferences of a profession over those of the public and the individual patient. I recommend it for anyone that seeks to understand the history and politics involved with medical and chiropractic care.

 

Dennis Marchiori, Chancellor, Palmer College of Chiropractic, 8-23-2011

I applaud J.C. Smith for his extraordinary effort to report the extent of the true war against chiropractic that existed for decades. Through his research and clear, engaging writing style, we learn the scope of efforts and commitment of those who opposed chiropractic. It is inspiring that our profession has survived such significant and organized opposition.

 

John Hanks, DC, columnist for Dynamic Chiropractic

"Best book in decades that explains the concerted effort of organized medicine to usurp the chiropractic concept and then destroy the chiropractic profession. After reading this book, every chiropractor should feel vindicated and proud of our profession, and should be amazed that we have even survived!"

 

George McAndrews 5-25-2011

Lead Attorney for the Wilk v. AMA antitrust trial

I read your new book with great interest. It demonstrates the tremendous amount of time and effort you put into research, coupled with your natural talents as an author.

 

Lou Sportelli, DC, May 30, 2011

     Writing a book is a labor of love and undoubtedly you have provided a very historical background, supported by logic and scientific research to advance and validate the chiropractic profession as a necessary service and a mandatory inclusion in any program involving the care of patients with spinal afflictions.

 

John Gantner, DC: June 2, 2011

Past Delegate and Board member of NYSCA, DABCO Past NY Delegate and Past Vice President of the ACA, Authority and lecturer on NY Workers' Compensation procedures for the Chiropractor, author of 6 texts for the practicing chiropractor.  

 

This text is MUST reading for every DC, for every student in Chiropractic College. This is the first comprehensive text describing, chronologically, the AMA's war against our profession - starting from day one. It exposes the deceitful tactics used to denigrate not only our work, but our people.

But it is much more. It is an exciting narrative that serves many purposes. It describes the growth of our profession and cites hundreds of documents that prove the value of our work, bringing the reader up to the present time - today's Chiropractic.

 Our history has been passed, for the most part, by word of mouth, from teacher to student. With all due respect to those teaching today it is clear to me that no teacher has done research equaling the work done by Dr. Smith in assembling this text.

 Buy it, study it, and share excerpts with the movers and shakers in your area.

 

  

Chester Wilk, DC, lead plaintiff in the Wilk v. AMA antitrust trial. 6-7-2011

The Medical War Against Chiropractors is an excellent resource for  anyone wanting an accurate and detailed history of the covert activity of  the AMA to destroy chiropractic. Dr. Smith's book provides a thorough, accurate, and objective history of the illegal conduct of the AMA which I believe will serve as a solid reference  source for a big screen motion picture some day. The message in his book makes any John Gresham novel pale by comparison because it really happened. I am convinced that some enterprising movie producer will see the huge potential of the story and make our lawsuit into a big screen motion picture.

 

 

Pran Manga, PhD, MPhils, 6-20-2011

This book is an excellent critique of the medical profession vis-a- vis chiropractic and a fair, spirited, and balanced defence of chiropractic. It suggests and recommends practical policy changes that are warranted by the copious and convincing evidence provided in the book.

 

While it is not the first time such a book has been published it is surely one of the best of its genre in many years. It deserves to be read and discussed widely by chiropractors, health policy experts, health insurance executives, and health caregivers generally.

 

Chiropractors have been unduly diffident lately in pressing for health care reform and challenging the medical profession to cede the overlapping turf that they both claim. This book should serve to take up that fight yet again because it makes clear that progress for chiropractic without that fight is unlikely. This is the message many chiropractors do not want to acknowledge, preferring to believe that there are less stressful avenues to reform and justice. This book suggests that this belief is illusory. It makes ample references to the many courageous chiropractors who struggled for justice over the years and thus poses an implicit question the profession needs to answer: does the profession have the leaders to take up the continuing struggle now? What is at stake is not just a better dispensation for chiropractors, but better health care outcomes for the public and lower costs of health care services.

 

The book is obviously not just relevant to the USA but world-wide wherever chiropractic is practiced. Finally, I hope that one or more medical doctors will attempt to answer and rebut the many issues raised by Dr. J. C. Smith in this book and instigate further debate and discussion. In my opinion, the book is thorough and firmly founded on the extant evidence but a debate is always welcome.

 

 

 

Rick McMichael, DC, president of the American Chiropractic Association

June 28,2011

 

J. C. Smith's well-referenced and skillfully written book will help put the pieces of this puzzle together for those who seek a more full understanding of the chiropractic profession, the benefits of chiropractic care and the enormous opposition Doctors of Chiropractic have encountered in their drive to bring safe, conservative health care alternatives to the public.

R. Dean Harman, DC, July 7, 2011

I thought I was fairly knowledgeable about our professional history, but much of what is in the book surprised me. Will surely require a 2nd or 3rd read.

 The last part of the book speaks to studies that support or prove the efficacy of what we do every day. These should be extremely useful in refuting the medical model. It's profusely annotated if you wish to pursue a particular issue, 755 references throughout the book.

 Frankly, I can't imagine how much work putting this all together must have been. The effort that must have been required is mind-boggling! You will probably have to take this in small doses, not something you can read from cover to cover in one sitting.

 

Richard H. Tyler, D.C. 7-14-2011

former member of the Vermont Board of Chiropractic Examination and Registration former chairman of the state of California Board of Chiropractic Examiners former editor the "The Chiropractic Family Physician", former associate editor of "Dynamic Chiropractic", author of "Alternative Chiropractic"

I feel that nothing I write about JC Smith's "The Medical WAR Against Chiropractors" will be sufficient unto the need.  In my over forty years in practice I have been on two state boards, edited chiropractic journals, written texts and lectured around the county.  I've fought many philosophical and legal battles as a chiropractor but never bothered to organize any of the details of the evil machinations of organized medicine against the chiropractic profession.  To the rescue has come JC Smith who has produced one of the most important volumes on this incredible war.  I couldn't put it down.  Beautifully referenced - A MUST read for doctors of all persuasions - for all healing arts libraries and for you.

 

Sonny Grogan, DC

Ellijay Chiropractic Clinic

7-11-11

Dear Jim,

Thank you so much for writing this book! It should go down in history as one of the greatest tales of injustice against humanity ever told.

Your dedication should be greatly admired from every DC around the world. Most chiros have had an uphill hostile battle since day one.

Thank you!

 

Ronald J. Farabaugh, D.C.
Chairman CCGPP

JC, your information is truly the best.  Keep up the good work!!

 

 

 

 

Paul H. Goodley, MD, author of Release From Pain, 7-15-2011

Over the decades that I learned that “modern” medical traditionalism was not founded on a virtuous foundation, it took real work to maintain my idealism. My destiny came early in my professional life to focus on one challenge: to insist that my colleagues learn what I did: our training and approaches to common musculoskeletal pain syndromes are Fundamentally Flawed. Their insubstantiality has caused a Pain Pandemic of unimaginable pervasiveness—that has been ignored precisely because it is so ubiquitous that is just seems “the way things are.”

Somewhere lost in time, JC Smith, DC, read something of mine, and our rarely benign correspondence began. From the first, I was almost scorched by his fire. Our disagreements at times could be so volatile that I’m grateful I wasn’t in the same room with him. But one fact always prevailed: Jim is an honest and powerful man who strives to present from facts despite that his frustrations with the same issues I have fought for over fifty years are the same as mine.

In his new book, The Medical War Against Chiropractors, Dr. Smith has matured to the fullness of the gifted writer he has been throughout. He is now a hero among those few who expend themselves to preserve, restore, or initiate the way effective care can be.

Dr. Smith does not try to sell Chiropractic as the perfect panacea. He knows there are bad actors in his profession who have caused deserved condemnation (that unfortunately has been generalized). But his case is irrefutable! Every day, despite the efforts of mavericks like me, in reality, traditional medicine is increasingly slipping into the pit of ignorance that feeds the Pain Pandemic.

In The Medical War Against Chiropractors, Dr. Smith sadly proves that the only resolution to this crisis is for the Chiropractic profession to be recognized as the major reservoir for the rational treatment of the pains that humankind has sought relief from throughout the ages.


Pran Manga, PhD, MPhils, 6-20-2011

This book is an excellent critique of the medical profession vis-a- vis chiropractic and a fair, spirited, and balanced defence of chiropractic. It suggests and recommends practical policy changes that are warranted by the copious and convincing evidence provided in the book.

 

While it is not the first time such a book has been published it is surely one of the best of its genre in many years. It deserves to be read and discussed widely by chiropractors, health policy experts, health insurance executives, and health caregivers generally.

 

Chiropractors have been unduly diffident lately in pressing for health care reform and challenging the medical profession to cede the overlapping turf that they both claim. This book should serve to take up that fight yet again because it makes clear that progress for chiropractic without that fight is unlikely. This is the message many chiropractors do not want to acknowledge, preferring to believe that there are less stressful avenues to reform and justice. This book suggests that this belief is illusory. It makes ample references to the many courageous chiropractors who struggled for justice over the years and thus poses an implicit question the profession needs to answer: does the profession have the leaders to take up the continuing struggle now? What is at stake is not just a better dispensation for chiropractors, but better health care outcomes for the public and lower costs of health care services.

 

The book is obviously not just relevant to the USA but world-wide wherever chiropractic is practiced. Finally, I hope that one or more medical doctors will attempt to answer and rebut the many issues raised by Dr. J. C. Smith in this book and instigate further debate and discussion. In my opinion, the book is thorough and firmly founded on the extant evidence but a debate is always welcome.

 

 

Anthony L. Rosner, Ph.D., LL.D.[Hon.], LLC

Research Director, International College of Applied Kinesiology-USA

 

Dr. Smith's intensively researched and fully documented treatise is an important testimony as to how politics has invaded healthcare to the detriment of all but vested interests. It should be an important lesson to all those who have a true interest in controlling runaway healthcare costs and reforming the healthcare system in such a manner that the largest population is best served. What we find in The Medical War Against Chiropractors is precisely the opposite; i.e., the willful obstruction of a cost-effective and noninvasive alternative of demonstrated efficacy in the successful management of conditions that are among the most widespread in our society. The reasons for this action, unfortunately, appear to be purely for economic gain and self-interest. Accordingly, the public stands to benefit greatly from the critical appraisal of these political activities as set forth by Dr. Smith in his new work."

 

Roland R. Hicks, DC, CCSP, DACBN, RN, BSN, Aug 4, 2011

I read your book over my vacation.  I enjoyed it immensely. Great job!

 I am rejuvenated mind, body and soul!  I am looking to kick ass and take names.

 

 

Mike Schneider, DC, PhD,  8-16-2011

Dr. Smith has provided an important chronicle of American history that exposes the ugly and selfish side of organized political medicine. As our country moves forward into the future of national health care reform, it is important that we learn from these lessons of the past. Chiropractic treatment for back and neck pain has been shown to be safe and effective, and should be embraced as an integral part of the American health care system.

 

Donald R. Murphy, DC, DACAN, 8-16-2011

Clinical Director, Rhode Island Spine Center

I finished reading your book and greatly enjoyed the historical detail you provided of the many full-scale and well-organized attacks on the chiropractic profession. It is essential for people to be aware of the seemingly tireless efforts of organized allopathic medicine to “contain and eliminate” chiropractic medicine in the past as well as the ongoing efforts of a few zealots such as those involved in the FSU debacle and Ernst diatribes. And, of course, the ongoing overuse of injections and surgery. It is also important for people who may have a negative view of chiropractors to think about the extent to which this arises from the long history of well-organized propaganda versus actual first-hand knowledge of the profession.

Thanks again, JC!

 

Dr. Philip A. Facquet III, DC, 818-2011

I would like to have seen this book used at all colleges for a great review of our past. It has been refreshing for me to read and it is a great tribute to the lawyers that fought for us as well as to all of our doctors that have suffered bringing hope to the sick and injured. If I was a piece of toast I would be almost burnt...your book scraped off the char off of me...thanks.

 

 

Glen G. Rasmussen DC,Chairman CCPGG

Hi J.C, Just finished your book for the second time. The first time through was my typical speed read. There were so many important points and facts to be pondered that I felt obligate to immediately start a detailed re-read. I was impressed with extent of your detailed referencing. I have made a number of lists from your many references. As some of the other reviewers have pointed out, this book should be included in the Chiropractic curriculum of every Chiropractic college, in the USA and Internationally. I thank you for this fine piece of work. I am sure that it will be a well used and worn reference for years to come.

 

 

 

Steven J. Kraus, DC, DIBCN, FASA, FICC

Founder and CEO, Future Health

 

The Medical War Against Chiropractors by JC Smith clarifies so much of the why and how of where we are today as a chiropractic profession. As an avid reader of chiropractic history and having had the opportunity to meet and listen to leaders that were discussed in this book, I learned new facts that changed how I think about my profession and those that my profession interacts. Presidents, Board members, executive directors and public relations personnel in every state association need to understand where we are and how we got here as a profession.

The details of how the power of just a few people can shape decades of discrimination against our profession is worthwhile reading. Understanding how the public and other health care professions opinions and attitudes towards DC’s was shaped over the past several decades and the lingering ramifications of those malicious activities resulted in a culture that impacts our profession today is important for each of us to understand. It serves us well in our relationship building processes with: state and federal departments of health, legislators, our individual local hospital and medical relationships with individual DCs, and with insurance companies, to understand the mindset that they may come from.

Knowing the past and what shaped the present is critical to successful forward progress for the profession. JC Smith does an excellent job of assembling the facts, sharing insight, and helping the reader understand how this tragedy unfolded.

You can’t move the profession forward if you don’t understand where it is and where it came from. Every DC, their spouse, their children, every employee of a DC, and every employee of a chiropractic association needs to read this book. Reading this Untold Story by JC Smith should be a part of basic training to build an army.

 

 

Bill Morgan, DC,  Bethesda Naval Hospital, 10-10-2011

JC
Thank you for the kind words in your book. It was a tough read, but I think that every chiropractor and every student should read this. Even though the efforts of my life have been to move past this chapter and on to a future of collaborative care, I can see the need to remember what has occurred in the past.
Blessings

The following is a review written by one of my patients, Marguerite Sechrist.

 

 

About the book, The Medical War Against Chiropractors, I say read it and weep.

 

Yes, weep for the untold number of patients who have been denied better health because the AMA refuses to acknowledge the benefits chiropractors could give patients. It is overdue for the AMA to cast aside the pride and prejudice enjoyed for generations past and present behind its walls of isolation against chiropractic. There is room in this wide, wide world for both professions to bring better health to more people through cooperation.

 

This book was a revelation for me, an education from start to finish. Through spinal care at Smith Spinal Care Center, I now have a new lease on life…at age 81.

 

Robert Cowin, DC, Wollongong, Australia (Nov. 3, 2011)

Dear JC Smith
Thanks for your book. I am grateful to have so much rich, historical background to our profession and to my own individual life as a chiropractor. It makes sense of the unexpected rebuffs the job sometimes has brought me over the past four decades. My background was mainstream and it still catches me by surprise occasionally when I am treated as minority and therefore deviant. (Not that I dislike being in this minority, mind you!)

References to your book number 5 of the 42 used in my latest little clinic newsletter and feedback from patients so far has been that they are both amazed and grateful to learn of chiropractic's survival against the opposition it has received.

I've attached the newsletter on the chance you and/or other Listers may be interested in seeing what I "have done to your song".

Congratulations, Cheers,

Don Olson, DC, FASBE, DACS

Greetings Doctor Smith

 

Thank you and your family for all the time required to produce this book.

 

I have only seen testimony of the value/benefit of your book and feel confident it will help spread some truth in my circle.

 

Please let me know how to pay you. I'd like to order 21 copies so as to receive the 35% discount. Thank you for offering such.

 

I also promote seminars in our area so if you ever have a desire to travel to Washington State please let me know. Another fun option would be to have our state association schedule you as a convention speaker for an upcoming Conference. I'd be happy to connect you.

 

GOD's Blessings to the Smith Family today.

 

 

 

'A' STREET CLINIC OF CHIROPRACTIC, PLLC

1020 A St SE

Suite 4

Auburn Washington 98002

Ph: 253-939-0909

<dondc@reachone.com>

 

 

Stephen M. Perle, D.C., M.S

Dear Jim,

 

I am writing to tell you about how much I enjoyed reading your book,The Medical War Against Chiropractors. Also I really appreciate your effort in documenting this chapter in the profession's history. Having taught chiropractic history at the University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic for many years and having lived through many of the events in the book I think that your book is a must read for every member of the chiropractic profession from chiropractic students to older doctors.

 

Given the fact that about 2/3rds of the profession graduated after I did in 1983, the events in your book are not a distant memory, they are for most of our profession just a past that they are unaware of. While today it is less common to have a medical doctor drop ones hand in the middle of a handshake upon hearing that you are a chiropractor and spin on their heels and walk away (as happened to me in the early '80s) there are lasting consequences from the war. These can be felt in subtle ways that only when one knows tactics and actions taken by the medical profession in the war can one understand some of the negative perceptions about chiropractic that haunt us today. I personally believe that it is the lack of knowledge of the war which is the root reason for that so many younger doctors are not members of both state and national chiropractic associations. Hopefully your book will let those who are disengaged in our profession see the need for working together as the war is not completely over.

 

Sincerely yours,

 

Stephen

.

Associate Editor, Chiropractic & Manual Therapies

Professor of Clinical Sciences
University of Bridgeport, Bridgeport, CT 06604 USA

 

Dear Dr. Smith,

 

First, thank you for writing The Medical War Against Chiropractors. I have thoroughly enjoyed revisiting all the damning evidence against the AMA and their accomplices. For years, I had Dr. Wilk’s book but have since loaned and lost it. Your book was well researched and written, and I appreciate your efforts for our profession and the suffering public. Since reading it, I have found myself at times really irritated, and believe as you do that every D.C. and student in the world should have this as required reading. How could you practice chiropractic and ignore our history? After reading and reminiscing our history, I feel that one key that may be missing to our unity is that we have lost the “Eye of the Tiger” so to speak. I think your book, if read, will instill that feeling in our doctors, as well as patients.

 

In an effort to help get this message out, I would like to initially purchase 25 books. Your website indicates a price-break for volume. If you will be so kind as to send me the necessary information to complete our transaction I will be thankful. Again, thank you for your tireless effort all these years.


Best wishes,

 

J. Todd Whitehead, D.C.

Amarillo, Texas

 

Rand Baird, D.C., M.P.H., F.I.C.A., F.I.C.C.

Professor & Chiropractic Program Coordinator
Faculty of Medicine & Health
International Medical University (IMU)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 

Dear Jim:

I am very impressed with your new book. I like the fact that you have put the most important facts of this story in one place at last.

You've told an important story in an entertaining and informative way, and it's an important historical contribution.

I especially value my copy since you personally autographed it.

Thank you so much!

Your friend and comrade,

Rand


Chair, Public Health Committee
Chair, Associate Member Committee

World Federation of Chiropractic (WFC)

 

 

Dear Jim:

Thanks so much for sending me a copy of your book. Congratulations on putting together such a comprehensive and interesting book. I read the Court of Appeals’ Wilk decision for additional insight and have been surprised that all of this was going on so recently. Learning that the Wilk case came down so recently is like hearing that the Emancipation Proclamation was signed in 1963 rather than 1863.

 

Best Regards,

Robert Sawyer, Esq.

 

 

 

Kudos, JC....the profession needs to read this book...it's well done, powerful and puts today's issues our profession is facing in a logical context...hopefully, this perspective will help us form a realistic strategy for moving forward.

Guy Riekeman, DC

President

Life University

 

Hi Jim,

 

I finally finished the book!

 

And it was well-worth the read. It is splendidly done.  It covers every aspect, every detail, of what was done vs. chiropractors.  You have done a great service by putting all that into one volume. Congrats!

 

Rand Baird  

 

Website Builder